Council and statutory bodies

National Population and Housing Census 2014, Area Specific Profiles: Mukono District

Demographic and socio - economic data are useful for planning and evidence - based decision making in any country. Such data are collected through Population Censuses, Demographic and Socio - economic Surveys, Civil Registration Systems and other Administrative sources. In Uganda, however, the Population and Housing Census remains the main source of demographic data, especially at the sub-national level.

Location & Size

Mukono District, with a total area of 2,986.47 Sq Km, lies in the Central region of Uganda, sharing borders with the Buikwe District in the East, Kayunga along River Sezibwa in the North, Luwero in the North West, Kampala and Wakiso in South West, Tanzania - Lake Victoria in the South with the Islands of Buvuma District.

The District Headquarters is in Mukono municipality central division, situated along Kampala-Jinja road (21Kms East of Kampala City).

Population & Culture

The 2014 Population Census Final Results put Mukono’s population at 599,817 and the projected population at 601,516 by mid 2015 (including Municipal council)

Demographic Comparatives


 Mukono District

 Central Region




Located in the South Western region of the Republic of Uganda Rubanda district borders with Kisoro to the West, Rukungiri and Kanungu to the North, Kabale to the East and the Republic of Rwanda to the South.

It is one of the highland Districts of Uganda and its topography is mainly green, interlocking and heavily cultivated hills with spectacular valleys.

Vision & Mission

District Vision
To have improved quality of life for the people by reducing poverty levels

District Mission
To ensure effective service delivery through strategic planning, equitable resource allocation and reducing disparities so as to attain sustainable economic growth and development

Mukono, Wakiso and Mpigi to share master plan with Kampala

The Government has unveiled a master plan to merge three districts to Kampala to foster economic development.

The three districts are Wakiso, Mpigi and Mukono.

The merger follows a consensus reached by different stakeholders who included World Bank, National Planning Authority (NPA) and the districts' leadership.

The grand strategic plan for the joint development of Greater Kampala Metropolitan Area (GKMA) was launched on Friday at Pearl of Africa Hotel in Kampala.